Clean Up Kenya – POMPEI
Free Shipping over 60 €

Clean Up Kenya


Clean up Kenya & POMPEI

Clean Up Kenya was founded in July 2015 to advocate and promote sustainable public sanitation in Kenya. When the project started, the focus was on problems such as waste management, especially in areas with poor infrastructure, where there are often many huge, illegal landfills. The scope of the work has gradually expanded to include issues such as gaps in the legal framework for public sanitation, underinvestment in waste management infrastructure, pollution education and the removal of waste in nature.

In recent years, several campaigns have been conducted on the above-mentioned issues, which have already reached over ten million people and have brought about many positive changes in the country.

In April 2019, #CleanUpKenyaCoalition, the first national coalition against environmental pollution in Kenya, was established. Three months after its launch, the coalition had recruited over 2,500 members, including students, individuals, public leaders and several organizations, including Nairobi-based Strathmore University.

The long-term plan is to provide sanitation services and advice on sustainability to government, the private sector and the public, and to expand the work throughout Africa. In 2018, for example, Clean Up Kenya helped found Litter Free Ghana and Clean Up Uganda.

Clean Up Kenya is led by its founder and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Betterman Simidi with the help of Country Director Martin Muriithi and supported by an advisory board. Since 2016, technical advice has been added by various technocrats, including Dr. Yolanda Coombes, a former World Bank sanitation specialist.

Prevention & education for a better future

In 2016 Clean Up Kenya started the project "Kenya Children for Environmental Change. This behavioral change and mentoring project is aimed primarily at children under the age of thirteen and provides education on environmental change. It covers how environmental pollution is created, what can be done about it and how to take preventive action to prevent pollution.

In most cases, participants take part in safe clean-up activities, sometimes even visiting landfills or contaminated water sources for prevention, where the children learn about the impact of waste on the environment, livelihoods and the economy.

The goal is to teach the children how to deal with waste in a sustainable way and to raise awareness of how everyone can make a contribution against the pollution of nature.

Sunday,Monday,Tuesday,Wednesday,Thursday,Friday,Saturday
January,February,March,April,May,June,July,August,September,October,November,December
Not enough items available. Only [max] left.
Browse WishlistRemove Wishlist
Shopping cart

Your cart is empty.

Back to the shop

Language
German
Open drop down

Clean Up Kenya – POMPEI
Free Shipping over 60€

Clean Up Kenya

 

Clean up Kenya und POMPEI

Clean Up Kenya wurde im Juli 2015 gegründet, um für nachhaltige öffentliche sanitäre Einrichtungen in Kenia einzutreten und diese zu fördern. Als das Projekt begann, lag der Schwerpunkt bei Problemen wie dem Abfallmanagement, insbesondere bei Gebieten mit schlechter Infrastruktur in denen sich oftmals viele riesige, illegale Mülldeponien bilden. Der Umfang der Arbeit hat sich nach und nach erweitert und umfasst nun auch Themen wie Lücken in den rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen für öffentliche sanitäre Einrichtungen, unzureichende Investitionen in die Infrastruktur der Abfallwirtschaft, Aufklärung im Bereich Umweltverschmutzung und der Beseitigung von Müll in der Natur.

In den letzten Jahren wurden zu den oben genannten Themen mehrere Kampagnen durchgeführt, die bereits über zehn Millionen Menschen erreicht haben und viele positive Veränderungen im Land bewirken konnten.

Im April 2019 wurde mit #CleanUpKenyaCoalition die erste nationale Koalition gegen Umweltverschmutzung in Kenia ins Leben gerufen. Drei Monate nach dem Start hatte die Koalition über 2.500 Mitglieder rekrutiert, darunter Studenten, Privatpersonen, führende Persönlichkeiten des öffentlichen Lebens und mehrere Organisationen, darunter beispielsweise die Strathmore University aus Nairobi.

Der langfristige Plan besteht darin, der Regierung, dem Privatsektor und der Öffentlichkeit sanitäre Dienste und Beratung zur Nachhaltigkeit anzubieten und die Arbeit auf ganz Afrika auszuweiten. Im Jahr 2018 half Clean Up Kenya z.B. bei der Gründung von Litter Free Ghana und Clean Up Uganda.

Clean Up Kenya wird von seinem Gründer und Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Betterman Simidi mit Hilfe des Landesdirektors Martin Muriithi geleitet und von einem Beirat unterstützt. Seit 2016 kommt die technische Beratung durch verschiedene Technokraten, darunter Dr. Yolanda Coombes, eine ehemalige Sanitärspezialistin der Weltbank hinzu.

Prävention & Aufklärung für eine bessere Zukunft

Im Jahr 2016 startete Clean Up Kenya das Projekt „Kenya Children for Environmental Change.“ Dieses Verhaltensänderungs- und Mentoring-Projekt richtet sich vor allem an Kinder unter dreizehn Jahren und sorgt für Aufklärung im Bereich Umweltverschmutzung. Hierbei wird behandelt wie Umweltverschmutzung entsteht, was man dagegen tun kann und wie man präventiv handeln kann um der Verschmutzung vorzubeugen.

In den meisten Fällen nehmen die Teilnehmer an sicheren Aufräumarbeiten teil, manchmal werden sogar zwecks Prävention Mülldeponien oder verseuchte Wasserquellen besucht, wo die Kinder lernen, wie sich Abfall auf die Umwelt, die Lebensgrundlagen und die Wirtschaft auswirkt.

Das Ziel ist es den Kindern einen nachhaltigen Umgang mit Müll beizubringen und ein Bewusstsein dafür zu schaffen, wie jeder Mensch seinen/ihren Beitrag gegen die Verschmutzung der Natur leisten kann.

Sonntag,Montag,Dienstag,Mittwoch,Donnerstag,Freitag,Samstag
Januar,Februar,März,April,Mai,Juni,Juli,August,September,Oktober,November,Dezember
Nicht genügend Artikel verfügbar. Nur noch [max] übrig.
Wunschliste durchsuchenVon der Wunschliste entfernen
Warenkorb

Ihr Warenkorb ist leer.

Zurück zum Shop

Language
German
Open drop down